You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Legislative Assembly of British Columbia – Special Committee to Appoint a Conflict of Interest Commissioner

by pmnationtalk on June 25, 20192657 Views



Special Committee to Appoint a Conflict of Interest Commissioner

Ronna-Rae Leonard, MLA, Courtenay-Comox, Chair  | Steve Thomson, MLA, Kelowna-Mission, Deputy Chair

Conflict Of Interest Commissioner

The Conflict of Interest Commissioner is a non-partisan officer of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia responsible for ensuring that Members of the Legislative Assembly fulfill their obligations under the Members’ Conflict of Interest Act (RSBC 1996, c. 287).

The Commissioner’s mandate includes reviewing Members’ disclosure statements; providing advice respecting Members’ financial interests; conducting investigations and formal inquiries when required; reporting annually on the affairs of his or her office; and issuing reports pursuant to investigations, which may include recommending the imposition of penalties.

The successful applicant will be recognized as a person of high standing and integrity within his or her professional community, with a strong legal or procedural understanding, and a proven record of senior-level decision-making. Applicants must be able to establish and maintain professional, impartial and trusted relationships with elected representatives of all political parties. The successful applicant will be able to provide independent, informed and objective advice to Members regarding conflict of interest considerations in a confidential manner, discern early signs of potential conflict and promote conflict avoidance and resolution. Excellent communication and media skills are required, including public education and outreach.

The Commissioner is to be paid compensation as may be set by the Lieutenant Governor in Council. The Commissioner holds office for a term of 5 years and may be reappointed for further terms.

Applications should be received by email, fax or mail at the address below no later than August 30, 2019. Although the Committee appreciates the interest of all applicants, only those who are invited for an interview will be contacted. All applications received will be held in confidence.

For further information, please visit our website at or contact:

Kate Ryan-Lloyd, Acting Clerk of the Legislative Assembly Parliamentary Committees Office Room 224, Parliament Buildings

Victoria, B.C.  V8V 1X4
Toll Free in BC 1.877.428.8337
T 250.356.2933 | F 250.356.8172

Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More