HousingBCTogether agenda features over 50 panellists & speakers

by ahnationtalk on March 17, 20238 Views

Housing attainability and affordability are among B.C.’s communities’ most significant social challenges. UBCM’s summit HousingBCTogether will gather leaders from all orders of government, along with industry, not-for-profit and Indigenous housing sectors to rethink housing policy with a focus on transformative solutions. As we get closer to welcoming delegates April 4-5 at the Vancouver Wall Centre, our program is nearing completion with over 50 speakers, panellists and facilitators confirmed, with more to come. Register now to be part of the discussion.

At the time of publication, the following are confirmed participants in the HousingBCTogether agenda. Further names will be added in the coming days.

Province of BC

Premier David Eby
B.C. Minister of Housing, the Honourable Ravi Kahlon
Leader of the Opposition, MLA Kevin Falcon
Leader of the BC Green Party, MLA Sonia Furstenau
MLA Roly Russell, Parliamentary Secretary for Rural Development
Sarah Petrescu, Meghan Will – BC Ministry of Housing
Tricia Poilievre, Ministry of Mental Health and Addictions
Heidi Hartmann, BC Housing Associate VP, Supportive Housing & Homelessness
Lori Halls, Deputy Minister for Water, Lands and Resource Stewardship
Gord Enemark, A/Executive Director, Housing Policy Branch, Ministry of Housing
Jessica Brooks, Executive Director of Planning and Land Use Management
Eric Nicholls, Director of Planning and Land Use Management
Lesley Scowcroft, Planning and Land Use Management

Government of Canada & Federal Agencies

Joshua Gordon, Senior Analyst, Statistics Canada
Lance Jakubec, Municipal Relations Team at Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation
Dr. Dan Hiebert, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada

Local Government

Councillor Jen Ford, UBCM president
Mayor Ken Sim, City of Vancouver
Mayor Marianne Alto, City of Victoria
Mayor Tom Dyas, City of Kelowna
Mayor Mike Hurley, City of Burnaby
Mayor Malcolm Brodie, City of Richmond
Mayor Brenda Locke, City of Surrey
Mayor Linda Buchanan, City of North Vancouver
Mayor Vickey Brown, Village of Cumberland
Mayor Maja Tait, District of Sooke
Mayor Jack Crompton, Resort Municipality of Whistler
Chair Jason Lum, Fraser Valley Regional District Laurey Anne-Roodenburg, City of Quesnel
Councillor Trish Mandewo, City of Coquitlam
Councillor Cori Ramsay, City of Prince George
Councillor Jenna Stoner, District of Squamish
Councillor Sarah Kirby-Yung, City of Vancouver
Councillor Craig Hodge, City of Coquitlam
Andrew Merrill, Director of Development Services, City of Coquitlam
Pam Hartling, Housing Planning and Policy Manager, District of Saanich
Andrea Hudson, Assistant Director, Community Planning, City of Victoria
Karen Hoese, Director of Sustainable Planning and Community Development, City of Victoria
Don Luymes, General Manager, Planning and Development, City of Surrey
Heather Nelson-Smith, CAO, District of Port Hardy
Sarah Hicks, Chief Licence Inspector, City of Vancouver;
Claire Thompson, Manager of Proactive Enforcement, City of Vancouver
Regina Sadilkova, General Manager of Development Services, Thompson-Nicola Regional District

Indigenous Housing

Margaret Pfoh, CEO, Aboriginal Housing Management Association
Rod Hill, Director, Indigenous Asset Management, BC Housing


Chris Atchison, BC Construction Association
Bridgitte Anderson, President and CEO, Greater Vancouver Board of Trade
Dianna Dilworth, Director of Government Relations, Homebuilders Association Vancouver
David van Hemmen, Vice President at the Greater Vancouver Board of Trade
Ron Rapp, CEO Homebuilders Association Vancouver

Not for Profit, Housing advocates & Advanced Education

Tamara White, Associate Executive Director, Small Housing
Jill Atkey, BC Non-Profit Housing Association
Tom Davidoff, UBC Sauder School of Business
Andy Yan, SFU City Program
Chris Friesen, Chief Operating Officer of the Immigrant Services Society of BC


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More